Things That Really Grind My Gears #3/4: Boro Park Chassidim & Bald Chicks

I would like to take this chance to put my own “unique” (Torontonian Jewish) spin on that segment, to tell you guys what really “grinds my gears” in our community, or others.

I’m sure most of you I will try posting one or two grinds per week to keep this as an ongoing segment.

You know what really grinds my gears?!…

…Going into Boro Park for my Chassidic cousins simcha, just to be given a book on the Ani Ma’amin (basic principles of Jewish faith) to take back to Toronto and read, simply because I happened to be wearing a normally brimmed black hat (I was forced to wear it at this particular simcha)…funny thing is if they saw the kippah srugah under that black hat, I’d likely be labelled a heretic and would have been sat Shiva for.

…having my mother asked at the previous points’ simcha whether or not I was dating yet (I was maybe 18 at the time), and when they’re told ”no, he’s not ready yet”, to get a response of “HE’S not ready?! You MAKE him ready!”….better yet when they asked my mother what type of girl I’d be looking for, RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME, I really wanted to interject “well for starters, she’s gotta have hair!”

More to come next week. Stay Tuned….

Please send me some suggestions (via reply to this thread) of things that Really Grind YOUR Gears, and I will post the winner in a few weeks!

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Frummies, Yiddish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I know you intended this to be lighthearted and humorous, but I, despite not being affiliated with Chabad or Chassisdim, founds this rather offensive.

    I know that this was not intentional, so please review it again from someone elses viewpoint. Chas Vishalom it should upset anyone.

    Like

    • Bobby Orr-Somayach

      I found it pretty offensive how they acted at those 2 simchas. I’m sorry if you felt offended, but I really don’t see where the offensive material was….

      Like

Leave a Reply

